Review- Playing Stacy by Jenn Hype


I’m not even sure where to start on this review. I loved the first book in the pretending series and wasn’t really sure how I would feel about this one. Stacy was not all that likeable in Pressing Adalyn, but at the same time she was the witty non filtered one that you couldn’t help but laugh with. So when I started this book I tried to start fresh, I’m so glad I gave her another chance!!!!  Definitely a 5 Star read! 


Stacy was…… Stacy, that’s the only way to put it. She was off the wall, super fun but at the same time you could see her vulnerable side and your heart ached for her. Some of the stuff that came out of her mouth had me laughing till tears were streaming down my face! She didn’t have it easy in this book, things happen and you break with her, but thru it you feel with her and realize she wasn’t all that bad, just the fun, sarcastic, unfiltered stacy that you fall in love with. 

Chad! He was secretive yet you could feel his shame throughout the whole book. His past is just horrible and have you wanting to hold him and then break something. He needed to loosen up and that’s where stacy comes in and needless to say, by the end of the book, he is finally what we all knew he could be. I’m not saying that who he was was bad, he was just so controlled. He was a sexy cop and you really want to do something naughty to get in cuffs, (I don’t blame Stacy for that one) but he was also respectable. He try’s, you can feel him trying to let go and be what he wants to be, then bam! The shutters go up and he closed off again. It’s a whirlwind of emotions thru this whole boo

The plot….. Well I won’t go into too many details just because I don’t want to ruin it, but Stacy want to help chad be more laid back, but she really wants to be with him. There are tons of misunderstandings and things that happen you will dislike the author for putting the characters thru but in the end we get a HEA and ready to hug the author! One of my favorite parts always about 30% in and it was a part that made you realize that the Hero and Heroine belong together, it made you laugh and at the same time it will break your heart. 

Here are a few quotes that I couldn’t help but love

““Oh, I was just trying to help you out but I don’t think I can. You’ll probably need a surgeon.” He sneered and lifted one eyebrow. “Well, I was going to try and help you remove that giant stick from your ass, but it’s so far up there that I think it will take the help of someone more qualified.”

“Death by vagina. Hysterical. My headstone would read: Twenty-six years should have been enough For Stacy to learn not to mess with her muff She had it coming, so don’t feel distraught Karma’s a bitch. -Sincerely, her twat”

Quote that breaks your heart! 

““No!” I yelled, interrupting what I knew she was going to say. I wished there was a way to do this without completely lying, but I had to make sure I completely burned this bridge. I wouldn’t have the willpower to stay away from her, so I needed her to hate me. It was cowardly and weak, but I was desperate. “The only thing I feel towards you is physical attraction, but I can get those needs satisfied anywhere and by much more attractive women. Why would I settle for you? The only reason anything has happened between us at all was because you were convenient. Right place, right time. You’re too much work, though, so now I’m telling you to stay away. I don’t want you, so don’t embarrass yourself further by trying to convince me otherwise.”

Overall this is a book to not be missed. It was so hard to write this review without giving too much away, and my thoughts all over the place. I can’t even put into words how well this author did while writing this book. Being only her second book I have to say that she has a true knack for writing. She makes you feels for a character that previously you might not have liked. The humor in this book is just….. I can’t even describe it. Fans of Deborah Anastasia, and NA Alcorn will love the humor in this book! So if you’re wanting to read something super funny, but with real issues then read this book! You won’t be sorry! #2OCCJD

Get it here on Amazon—-> http://www.amazon.com/dp/B015NH4ZPA/

Also don’t miss book one, Pressing Adalyn! My review is HERE or get in Amazon HERE 

One thought on “Review- Playing Stacy by Jenn Hype

  1. Pingback: Review- Prusuing Carrie by Jenn Hype | Two One Click Chicks

Leave a Reply

