Letter to Myself by Sheryl Lee

4 stars out of 5

Spoiler Alert!!!

This book is not for the faint of heart.  The story was hard to read due to its nature but the writing and Cassie kept me enthralled.   This story takes you on a roller coaster ride of emotions.  I was crying and biting my nails most of the time, and then, there was that moment of peace and I was able to breathe again.

Cassie and Nathan have a very messed up relationship, both co-dependents and both unable to realize the problem.  The story is told from Cassie’s point of view and unfortunately is a tale as old as time.  I found myself rooting for Cassie as she struggled through her every day life, but I also wanted to smack some sense into her.   I couldn’t stop imagining one of my friends going through this and it made me sad to think that even though this book is fiction, it is all to real.  The light at the end of long tunnel is worth the read.  I felt a part of the triumph, like I had been to battle with Cassie.

I think that this an important book to read even if it is difficult.  As a woman I know the troubles that we face and I have seen a lot of them.  Sherly took one of the many things that haunt us and made it something to talk about in a very easy way.  Sometimes we need a stepping stone and I think this book could be that.  I look forward to seeing how Cassie fares in the next book.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

